Reality vs. Supernatural

candle1

I found myself believing in the supernatural when I was growing up. I was surrounded by Christian imagery, and of course Led Zeppelin was in my life, so I had to consider the existence of the Devil. I have prayed before, and I have experienced things I thought were invariably out of the ordinary. But then, I remember when I was young being so drunk that I threw up on the hood of someone’s car one night, and I’ve experienced more than one episode of having taken liquor with friends. So what was I? I was young, influenced by Christianity, and I saw things that weren’t exactly that out of the ordinary while under the influence. I’ve had wild dreams, but who hasn’t had wild dreams? Thus, for the longest time I suppose I believed in the supernatural.

As my life unfolded, I began to look at the world from a different perspective.

book1

contents1

With my understanding of primitive man, I drew conclusions about the arrival of the higher power. The primitive man would look at the event of a flash flood or a gargantuan hurricane obliterating a coastline as an act of something greater than himself. And what better way to explain this greater something than that of an essence of being, a being who probably looks like a man!…only greater and bigger and more powerful, and moody. This is anthropomorphizing. People still do this. They make animals talk in terms of humans on the movie screen and they still imagine out of this world monsters as bizarre looking creatures, with human arms and legs that often know how to speak decent English. Back in the day, as a result of this anthropomorphizing, religions cropped up all over the place, and to be out of touch with some form of worship was to be out of style.

Since I came to this understanding, I’ve come to look at the higher power, the God figure, as a type of thing one tells their young child when they ask what happens when they die. How could anyone tell a young child, with those wide eyes eagerly awaiting the answer, that the body dematerializes and we rot, unless we choose to get cremated? This isn’t proper toddler etiquette in my book, thus we say what comes natural and all pervading in human society, that we go to the better place, or we say that God takes us away with the angels. But this is what the God figure has become to me, myth and superstition created during a time when religion was just the thing to do.

Aside from the higher being, there are the higher abilities that don’t hold much water in my book either. No matter how much I try to predict the future, I fail. Trying to read minds: out of the question, especially with the ex-gf. Third Eye power and seeing things by touching objects? I fail to possess any of these traits. In fact, when I perform a close examination of the entirety of my life, I can’t think of one solitary event or action that can lead me to believe anything remotely supernatural even exist. I want a ghost to visit me; I’d like to see a shape-shifter; I’d like to see a spell work; I would love to meet a werewolf; heck, I’d love to meet Jesus. But I have yet to do so, and praying and worshipping, and turning out the lights at night or hanging out in cemeteries have produced not the slightest shred of hope for me to reconsider.

precog1

para1

ESP1

want1

The oddest contradiction to this argument is the aspect of truth. Truth could be the Siamese twin to the aspect of love, and the power of each is a power to be reckoned with. The power of truth could almost be supernatural. If a man is walking down the street and he is not focused on what he should be doing, chances are, the truth will be that he will have no place to sleep on that night. If he is inclined to take something illegally, truth will eventually place him in jail. If he decides to attend to his situation with integrity, truth will provide for him in a positive way. The truth begins at a zero integer and works in a linear direction that extends both ways. To the left truth imposes the negative, to the right, truth imposes the positive. Wherever one goes in the universe, in whatever dimension one happens to exist, truth is an irreconcilable force to be reckoned with no matter the situation or circumstance. The aspect of truth separates the men from the boys, and in my opinion, represents the second half of a united force, the other half being love. The power of these forces are compelling, and brings one to consider the supernatural element they possess, for in their attributes and their effects, one cannot deny the phenomenon of infallibility by which they behave.

Christians would have you believe these aspects of truth and love equate the God figure. But then, so would the Hebrew nation of Israel, and the nation of Islam. And Hindu and Buddha might want to get their hands in on this, that is, if Catholicism doesn’t slap everyone around with their madness. I don’t last long in the bouncing game of who or what is God, but the uncanny power of truth and love is undeniable.

This entry was posted in life, personal, Psychology, random, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Reality vs. Supernatural

  1. xxhawkeyexx says:

    I believe in God. I’m considered a catholic, but I can’t really consider myself as one since I have lots of different thoughts and beliefs. I think it depends on how you’ve gotten though life.
    Religions are made for those who need a certain type of thing to believe in. People need this different kinds of religions because there are people for everything.
    There are those who NEED to be afraid of God to be ‘good’. There are those who NEED someone to pray to. It’s human nature to believe in something greater, it doesn’t have to be God, it can be the universe, energy…I don’t know since I’m not in everyone’s head.
    The church had a lot of power on the past, it was a type of government, but it’s not as if God doesn’t exist. I think God is goodness and love; positive thoughts and feelings are what make God to be the faith some people believe in.
    I don’t really think trying to look for a ‘visible’ answer might get someone to prove God exists.
    I believe what we call God is everywhere, when a child is born and the mother looks at he/she for the first time, when you meet the person you love, when you eat you favorite food, when you are grateful just because you are alive another day…
    Life itself is a miracle and heaven, but it might also be hell. It all depends how you take things.
    Sorry… I wrote too much πŸ™‚
    Take care,
    http://xxhawkeyexx.wordpress.com/

  2. LK says:

    No need to apologize, writing lots is encouraged.

    As an ongoing and perpetual student of Catholicism, I reserve the right to keep my comment here about the Catholic Church unedited, as I’ve heard many Catholic apologetics say things to me that made me feel like I was being slapped! But there are many things I like about Catholics, as long as I don’t have to be one.
    : D

    I’m glad you spoke up though, and I’ve heard this view before, which for you, must be hard because Catholic apologetics don’t want people believing in things, “how you take things.”

    The higher power is a good thing, as you mentioned, for spiritual security, and works wonders on crushing the ego.

    The proof thing, that one is always a twister. Maybe I’m actually a Maltheist/Dystheist?

    Thank you for reading!

    • xxhawkeyexx says:

      Don’t worry, feel free to say anything about any opinion you have about any religion. I’d like to hear your point of view. I’m pretty open-minded when it comes to the thoughts of others and such.
      I will not ‘slap’ you or anything and I agree that Catholics are pretty tough when it comes to give your own opinion contradicting what they dictate.
      Thanks for answering! πŸ˜€

  3. jnanarama says:

    When I was about 13, I was woken 3 nights in a row with my 4-poster bed being shaken by something at the foot of it. I never looked, I just stared, petrified with fear, at the shaft of light coming from my bedroom door from the hall light outside it. I woke up the first time and told my mom there was an earthquake last night. She said there wasn’t, because there wasn’t anything in the papers about it. So I quit talking about it. I’ve experienced a lot of weird supernatural things, but once you have, it never falls neatly into a religious category anyway. And nobody wants to believe you.

  4. noranoir says:

    Well, that almost sounded a little like Wayne Dyer. I like his take on most everything. I believe in higher power, and don’t take kindly to much squabbling about which name to call it or the rules to abide by. Truth and love are about the most particular principles anyone needs worry about. I feel certain that there is more after death. I’m not real sure about supernatural stuff. I’ve only had my life flash before my eyes, and that was strange enough. I’ve also had premonitions and deja vous. How different would the world be if everyone just searched their soul for what they believe, or want to believe, and left everyone else to do the same?

  5. LK says:

    I’ve got deja vu figured out, it’s kind of like the blip from the Matrix: the brain is a computer/drug-factory; when we’ve experienced deja vu, the brain has made an adjustmentary drip that makes one “feel” as though we’ve experienced what we’re experiencing once before.

    I am so no fun.

    : D

    Glad you found the place!

  6. noranoir says:

    I’m convinced that most of my deja vous are caused from having dreamt a similar situation which is kinda like premonition. I remember a few non-dreamt deja vous vividly, and they were more a connection of smell and memory to events that are routine, so essentially, it was like the same moment repeating. But I’ll bet if you ask any production line worker, he’d say he knows ALL about that πŸ˜‰
    I don’t really buy your explanation here.

  7. LK says:

    The chemical drip theory doesn’t work for you, eh…

    : (

    ..ah well, on to my next great hypothesis of how clairvoyance has actually only been around since the discovery of electricity…

  8. woowooteacup says:

    I love your description of God …

    “… only greater and bigger and more powerful, and moody.”

    What makes this sentence is the “and moody” part. That’s exactly how some people believe God is – ready to smote people at the slightest provocation.

    Me? I am an agnostic and a recovering Catholic. The art and some of the ritual of the Catholic church are wonderful (plus there’s a really hip & progressive order of nuns in our community), but I can’t stand the hierarchy and the male domination of the religion.

    The organized religion I resonate the most with currently is Unitarian Universalism. It’s about being okay with the questions in life (because most of life is questions) and encourages people to find their own truth, no matter where it comes from (including from other religious traditions).

  9. LK says:

    I had no idea. And this is an added detail to my understanding of Catholicism from the POV of a former Catholic, the male dominating aspect.

    I’ve read about UU and that’s an interesting take on spiritual organization. The mutual connection there must be pretty at ease.

    For me, my Sundays are reserved for flea markets and bike rides for now, but that could change depending on who I meet.

Leave a Reply

