Incoming Halloween

HorseA

While I tend to hover in between some of the more serious and less serious ideas and movies of Halloween time, this picture deriving from Werner Herzog’s Nosferatu never ceases to baffle me. Clearly he meant to get this horse’s behind in the shot because this can be in no way, shape or form, a miscalculation in camera angle. The movie does contain some harrowing concepts, but something about this Euro-blend is off-putting, and plain bizarre in my eyes.

One thing I can never fail to notice, is how Dante’s Inferno seems to serve as the archetype whenever a movie maker films a scene depicting hell. The Old-School Catholics must have really scared a lot of people over the centuries, and Dante’s imagery serves as the booster to keep those sinners in line and in the pews at church. Of course, the imagery also helps out on a blog post about Halloween-type subjects as well. (Ah, this isn’t a term paper, how relaxing…)

ween1

ween2

And what would an image of hell be without one of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Orcs grinning at the camera? Tolkien must have taken a queue in his day from the many descriptions of demons and zombies and goblins and just, intensely ugly people in general, to have characterized the infamous enemies of Gandalf and the gang. This Orc-Goblin behaves like a total animal at heart, and while he speaks in grunt talk, he no doubt probably gets all the Orc-chicks back at the ol’ Dante cave.

The makers of Resident Evil stick with the classic zombie as the product of a virus experiment gone haywire. Echoes of The Night of the Living Dead abound in this series, and I couldn’t love this more. These guys eat flesh and brains, and they never die unless they’re shot in the head. This sort of thing would bring tears to Lovecraft’s eyes. I don’t believe everything about zombies is completely true, and I think that if given a chance, they could be productive members of society, that is, if we can only determine a plentiful source of…braaaaiiiinnss.

R evil

SlntHll

Silent Hill gets conceptual with the notion of revenge, and the makers get creative with the aspect of zombies: faceless, wobbling, anthropomorphous creatures that spit hot ash when shot. If that’s not creative, I don’t know what is, but I think these guys represent the tainted souls of Alessa’s wide-awake nightmare. The movie is a heavy duty, Cadillac style Halloween detour that takes a person in (emotionally for me), and if one isn’t careful, mortifies them.

SilentHll

The nice thing about television fantasy horror is that with the help of a little closed-captioning, one can simply imagine the gore. This one must have been nice and gushy and mushy:

Caption

fairy

Halloween doesn’t have to be about dressing as Frankenstein or Dracula, or the presence of all things “scary.” People can use Halloween to draw on the world of fantasy, and the legend of the Unicorn is one of the best places to find such. The fairy above is traversing the catacombs of the infamous Lord of the Underworld, Darkness, in search of Jack and the dwarfs, and ultimately the chained Unicorn. Will they save the world from eternal night?

I believe pictures exist of real-life, miniature Unicorns, but I don’t know if they’re real or not. In order to get my Unicorn fill I have to rewatch the movie and follow along as the lover Unicorns get separated as a resulting consequence of Lili’s feline curiosity. (Of course they get back together in the end; I’m such a sucker for mushy love, I just don’t know why.)

unicorn

I have to spoil the party, though, by declaring that my favorite character is Blix, a goblin who is “Black as night, Black as pitch, Blacker than the foulest witch.”

blix3

This scary looking girl derives from an Anglican tale of mentally challenged sadists who inhabit a mysterious section of the Ireland forest. Some inbreeding has caused a shift in community consciousness with these people, and their habits are anything but hospitable:

StarryEyes

1Dana

To add to my collection of Halloween thoughts, I can’t leave out the dedicated Dana Scully, who chases Fox Mulder around on just about every ghost hunt and alien chase imaginable. Upon my three millionth viewing of the series, I couldn’t help but notice she misspelled “adenine,” one of four nucleic acids that make up the structure of DNA. There goes an English major for you, but hey, on national television? One would’ve thought the research could’ve been a little more thorough. I still LOVE Scully though!

2adenine

2Freddy

Lastly, but not in the least, what true Halloween post could fly without a glance at the masters of scare? While I have a list of gothic horror movies that could fit this bill, the time I have has limited me to these friendly shots of characters you know you love.

Have you had any dreams lately?

3Freddy

4Hllwn

I think John Carpenter should get the award for scaring as many people at once, primarily girls, into thinking there’s someone lurking outside their windows. I lived in odd circumstances where at one time, we lived in a two story house behind a cemetery. The parents were hardly ever home, and my first viewing of Halloween made living a little precarious afterwards. At night, when looking out my window, I’m telling you, there aren’t any lights on in the cemetery, just a pitch black pall with tombs outlining the moonlight. Mmmm, how did I get so disturbed again?

5Hllwn

In finality, the all time injection of shock would have to come from the year 1973 when the world observed Regan’s demon-possessed body contort and vomit and use discernibly harsh language toward a couple of priests, and her own mother. The movie can be laughed upon in the modern day, but a sober, late night viewing would probably not be recommended, even now.

1Exorcist

This entry was posted in life, movies, personal, photos, random, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Incoming Halloween

  1. jnanarama says:

    Hee hee… I think that first photo is a literary mechanism to convey that someone in that shot is a horse’s ass. : D

  2. woowooteacup says:

    I can’t stomach horror films. While I can tell myself the ugliness is just makeup, it’s the tension I can’t stand. I do enjoy “Legend” and the “X-Files”, though. And I’m quite fond of “Shaun of the Dead.”

  3. jnanarama says:

    I’m pretty sure I meant cinematic. It’s been a long day of writing reports and studying the anatomy of the larynx, but somehow that came to my attention… And I’ve always been an X-Files lover as well. Did you see the movie?

  4. LK says:

    I was on the verge of pointing this out jnanarama. Just ya know, because… : )

    Mary, keep your eyes out for Zombieland then. In my opinion, every movie starring Woody Harrelson is a movie worth watching.

Leave a Reply

