City of Lights and Stone

When I walk through the crowd
knowing how I felt this morning,
the sea of people close in on me,
each one not knowing what it was like.
The day goes by and I remember how it felt last night,
how I couldn’t sleep,
it felt like a big empty space polishing my dreams
with shiny reflections that didn’t mean anything.
And when someone snaps me out of my wonder,
I trip over my words with images of you flitting by mind,
and the moments seem strange to navigate,
as though the world wasn’t meant to be,
like something is perpetually out of place.
This city of lights and stone
absorbs me to keep going,
and I keep going on,
in some direction
I can barely see before me.

This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

