Professionalism

I attempt to be professional, but I admit I slide. This is probably because I do not operate in a wholly professional environment. And even when I’m not on campus and I happen to encounter people behaving like idiots, like people who ride bikes through red lights in the middle of the night, then I realize how professional I can be, and I have rather notable references to my prized work ethic. But I let my guard down, often at the wrong times. Sometimes I catch myself losing my thoughts on a person, and this is where the danger lies, and this type of behavior can be very un-professional. The circumstances that a person is immersed in, is what makes them professional. A stock broker is immersed in long days of business; professionalism is ingrained into his psyche. Me, I am immersed in a world of people nearly fresh out of high school; I get fairly annoyed, though I declare I am not resentful toward my younger fellow classmates, they are a very brilliant bunch. I, however, I am taking a new approach. White shirts. I am going to buy white shirts with collars so that when I see myself in the mirror at school, I can remind myself that I have to be professional, and professionals don’t make mistakes. I may not be making money yet, but looking like I make money will work toward actually making money. Thus, if I am wearing my shorts and my t-shirts and tennies, my mind falls in line with what I am wearing. The only problem is, professionalism can wear on me. I like being mature and professional, but it’s not that fun. And I, sadly enough, was taught by a pack of wolves that fun is one of the only things worth living for. Professionalism, by contrast, only leads to fun. Professionalism is about working one’s tail off, just ask any prostitute. She has to be professional, but when she’s got all that cash, at least the option to go have fun exists. So, here on my most non-professional blog I am making a note-to-self: make special trip to custom men’s tailor to buy professional looking white shirts, because I am taking a baby step towards being a pinch more professional. Being professional means people want you. “Look, he’s professional, let’s get him.” “We need to get a professional on the scene.” “Don’t worry about the situation, it’s being handled by a professional.” I think there’s a line that people need to see about professionalism. Being professional doesn’t mean being robotic, impersonal, rude, or conniving. A true professional can let the guard down and sing lullabies to his children before they go to sleep at night. Professionalism is strength, innovation, leadership, courage, and maturity with the ability to understand why the need to be professional is necessary in the first place.

This entry was posted in college, life, personal, Psychology, random, relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Professionalism

  1. jnanarama says:

    Balance is a good and worthy goal, too. Professionals also make lots of mistakes, because they are people. 🙂

    • LK says:

      jnanarama, a character from a novel I hope to write once said, “wisdom and balance can be thought of in artistic terms, providing one is willing to assume the craft.”

      You’ve got the craft, I need the practice.

      About pros, well, at least when they make their mistakes they’re getting paid while they do it, but your point is taken.

      Thank you for visiting, and not being a stranger.

      • jnanarama says:

        Did you just compliment me? Aww, thank you. 🙂

        I’m not sure, though… I think when pro writers make their mistakes they’re just getting edited. 😉 But then, what do I know about being professional. I am sucking at it every day. Don’t take my points too seriously!!

        My wisdom for the day… The greatest skill in writing shows itself in the editing process. If we can stop thinking of our drafts as our “baby” that we want to keep, the editing process will reveal your meaning more clearly… something like pruning a bonsai tree. 🙂 Be fearless.

  2. noranoir says:

    Well put. But you need not blow a fortune at a tailor’s store. TJ Maxx of JCpenny will do just fine. I definitely think you’re on to something here.

  3. woowooteacup says:

    Your idea of dressing the way you want to be perceived is a good one. It’s like calling yourself a writer before you actually feel like one. Call yourself a writer long enough, you start to behave like a writer so you don’t have to deal with the cognitive dissonance of not being a writer. Pretty soon, you’re a writer.

    It’s good to be professional to a point, but professionals are allowed to have fun, too.

Leave a Reply

