Books Read, Re-Read, Reading

I finally read Alice in Wonderland. They are two stories in one book, and I was more pleased with the first one than the second. What’s interesting is that the second one comes as a sequel…a part two, and reminds me of the birth of “the sequel” of modern times: a story that is so enigmatic and enthralls the audience so much that the world cries for another. Sequels always have their problems, the main one being: Is the sequel a follow up of a story, or just a rehash of the same fodder? Lewis’s sequel is a rehash, but the content is complex enough that it can be appreciated. As usual, though, I am fascinated with originals, and the first half is definitely work of literary art. Of all the times I have seen the picture of the tea party drawn or depicted somewhere, the actual read of what happens in the tea party scene is very profound. I had no idea both stories were supposed to be dreams, but the first one has a pace that is complete with technique and content that has the reader working, yet all the while enjoying.

I reread, and will always reread Dorian Gray. (As you can see, my copy I have pictured has endured a few reads already.) The main reason is the wit and style. As a writer, however, I appreciate the syntax, and rereading this perfectly written novel shows me how sentences don’t have to be complicated to blow people away. The read incites a sense of actuality; the movements and actions that accompany the thoughts and repartee make the text vibrantly alive. In addition to the prose style, the morality is the adult type of morality I appreciate, the type that a reader will either like, or seriously dislike. The moral is an important one, but as a rebuttal to the hypocrisies of Victorian society, the work is filled behavioral observations that are priceless. Top this all off with the incredible insight and moody, wintry descriptions of London life during the age, and I must declare, Dorian Gray will get read again.

Though I’m on a mission to stick with classic fiction, I do hope to grab a piece of modern day fiction soon for the purpose of balance. Yet this fact that I am a fiction hound has been blindsided by my infatuation with physics. Unfortunately, mass destruction is connected to physics, and when I began perusing a copy of Oppenheimer’s autobiography, I could not put it down. Learning the complete human side of the birth of the bomb is an incredible adventure that is taking me to the core of what it means to be human. While I have my eye on a copy of Mansfield Park, my purposes there will have to wait until I learn everything there is to know about the father of the Atomic Age.

Of course, reading about Oppenheimer will have to happen alongside a scouring, scrutinizing, 14th Century read: Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, by author “unknown.” The madness doesn’t stop when it comes to examining texts here, and the dialect in this one’s going to be a doosy. Add in the fact that the courses in Summer Session 2 are full unit courses that are condensed into 5 weeks, then add in the fact that I will be taking a full unit load of Psych 168 Abnormal Psychology to join in, and we all can get an idea of how my next month and a half will be.

This entry was posted in books, college, life, personal, poetry, Psychology, random, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Books Read, Re-Read, Reading

  1. woowooteacup says:

    I thought the cracks in the Dorian Gray cover were part of the cover art. They are very appropriate.

    Hang in there with the killer summer session. 🙂

  2. LK says:

    I felt the need to clarify that…poor book has seen some days.

    Hope your doing well. As for the session, this ain’t statistics, they are subjects I like, so there’s a big difference in motivational factors playing here…though indeed, I will be wall-to-wall busy.

Leave a Reply

